It is the mission of Abilene Community Theatre to entertain, educate, and engage our community through the performing arts.

Abilene Community Theatre (ACT) was founded in 1954, and made it's home in it's current location on Barrow in 1958. ACT is one of the oldest continually operating community theatre organizations in Texas. ACT is a not-for-profit 501(c)3, and is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors.

ACT markets its productions throughout Taylor county to all ages and economic groups by way of public service announcements, appearances on local television and radio programs, and on social media. All actors and members are volunteers from the local community who are interested in helping preserve and promote live theater in Abilene, Texas. Audiences are comprised of a diverse mix of residents and seasonal visitors who enjoy seeing their friends and neighbors present live, local theater productions.

Abilene Community Theatre is a volunteer group. It has no paid staff nor are any members of ACT remunerated for the time, efforts and talents they bring to the organization. Musical productions will sometimes incur the cost of hiring a pianist or musicians for rehearsals and performances.

ACT is dedicated to the development of the performing arts for the youth as well through it's children's theatre outreach program, The Center for Theatre Education (CTE). The mission of The Center for Theatre Education is to create a safe, inviting environment where individuals of all ages and backgrounds can grow in self-confidence and creativity while feeling free to experience, learn about, and nurture a love and respect for all elements of theatre

The Abilene Community Theatre seeks to encourage the appreciation of and participation in all aspects of live theater, as well as conducting related educational programs for adults and children. ACT is able to meet this mission through the hard work of it's active volunteer group, and the generosity of donors and sponsors.


Ginger Vinson

Get in touch

Board Members

Mike Stephens

Preston Curry
Vice President of Production Support, Production Committee Chair

Pierce LoPachin
Treasurer, Finance Committee Chair

Andrea Robison
Education Committee Chair

Jeremy Matta
Secretary, Nominations Committee Chair,

Christina Hollis
Marketing Committee Chair

Aaron Schutter
Facilities Committee Chair

Gavyn Hardegree
Vice President of Planning & Development, Fundraising Committee Chair

Tyler Sparks

Elise Pryor-Harden

Larry Wheeler

Preston Curry

Scot Miller